top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFrancis Wei

Edmonton's 10 Best Bubble Tea Places

Over the past 11 years since I've lived in Edmonton, I've seen the bubble tea scene explode as more and more chains decide to open shop. Since we are so spoiled now, a novice explorer of this tasty drink might find it difficult to decide which one they should visit first. Fear not! For I shall help you navigate through Edmonton's bubble tea scene and ensure that everyone gets to chew on the best balls.


Fair warning, everyone's taste is different, and I have been told my taste leans more towards "old person". I almost exclusively get some variation of the classic milk tea, and that is what I am comparing between these chains. I'm not always looking for a strong tea flavour, but I like to be able to taste the tea. This is why I always get half sugar. Thus if you like the more fruitier drinks, this list is not for you.


Some honourable mentions. Tea Bar Cafe is a staple of Chinatown, and not only do they serve a variety of creative drinks, you're also able to sing karaoke while you sip. Bambu is a Vietnamese coffee/dessert chain that also serves bubble tea.


You can order from all of these chains through either Ubereats, Skipdishes, or Doordash. However I would recommend ordering direct (via phone call or pick up at location if they are open), as these delivery apps usually take a percentage of the locations earnings.


 

10. Presotea

11113 87 Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T6G 0X8

Presotea and Sharetea are quite interchangeable between the number 9 and 10 spots. Both are quite new chains that recently opened in Edmonton. And none of them offer anything special that other chains don't have. If you're looking for a bubble tea fix, nothing wrong with going to either of them.



9. Sharetea

10200 102 Ave, Edmonton, AB T5J 0V1

One thing I will note is that you can buy Sharetea tea bags in T&T. Now you can bring some milk tea with you to the office!


















8. KFTea (Kung Fu Tea)

2827 Mill Woods Rd NW, Edmonton, AB T6K 4A9

Classic Milk Tea
Classic Milk Tea

You've heard of KFC, but have you heard of KFTea? Nestled in a small shopping area in Millwoods, this bubble tea place has been open for awhile, but due to its somewhat suburban location, it never got as much foot traffic as the other locations on this list.

Myself, I regret to say I've only been there once and I found their milk to tea ratio favours milk more. However, I find their tapioca quite good, chewy and not too soft. It is a location I would still recommend if you live closer to the East side, as there aren't many good bubble tea locations in the neighbourhood.

You can order their bubble tea directly via phone or online via Doordash or Skipthedishes.




7. Song Tea (丧茶)

8025 104 St NW, Edmonton, AB T6E 4E3

Hong Kong Milk Tea





























The newest chain from China to open in Edmonton, it just recently opened some time in November. They are located just off whyte ave in the store that was formerly called Hi Tea, and before that Taiwan Bubble Tea (one of the first bubble tea locations in Edmonton). They are so new that they are still using the branded cups from Hi Tea.

The Hong Kong Milk Tea that I ordered was strong but I did not quite like the tapioca. They were soft and kinda melted away after you chewed it only a few times. I will probably have to visit a few more times to see if this is just a one time occurrence, but for now this chain will sit at number 7.



6. Dream Tea House

Multiple locations

The classic, the OG, probably the first bubble tea that most students have drunk in Edmonton. You knew this one would land on this list. What is there to say about this place that most people wouldn't know; the menu is extensive (with lots of food too), the locations are throughout and it's 100% local.

They are probably the place I have visited the most in Edmonton. Although I find their drinks to be a little too sweet for my taste, it's the nostalgia that makes me keep coming back.






5. Heeretea Dongxi Tea

11116 82 Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T6G 2L8

Aesthetic, that's what I would use to describe Heeretea. It has probably one of the most instagramable interiors and is frequently visited by international students.

They have some unusual flavours on their menu, and the drinks that I've had were tasty. The prices are on the more expensive side though. Overall I think they are worth a try if you want something different than what other chains serve.








4. Meet Fresh

11412 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, AB T5K 0M1

Is this a butcher shop? Originating in Taiwan, this is probably the strangest name for a dessert shop. Although they are known mostly for their hot or cold tasty bowls filled with taro balls, grass jelly, tapioca etc. I find their fresh milk tea to be incredibly good. The tea flavour is flavourful and the tapioca is one of the best I've had in Edmonton. Their fresh milk tea is pricey though.



3. Gong Cha

Multiple locations

Brown Sugar Milk Tea

Ah Gong Cha, at first I wasn't a fan, but after having it a few more times I have come to appreciate this bubble tea chain. They are mostly a takeout chain, as their locations don't really have much seating. They also have a large variety of different flavours, and I usually flip flop between them and Coco, when I want my Bubble Tea fix. Definitely a worth addition to the bubble tea scene here in Edmonton.













2. Coco Fresh Tea & Juice

Multiple locations

Brown Sugar Pearl Milk Tea

Coco Fresh Tea came and changed the bubble tea landscape of Edmonton forever. If Coco didn't do well, I do not believe we would have all these other overseas bubble tea chains starting up shop here. What is not to love about them, the quality of their bubble tea is consistently the best, and their charcoal roasted milk tea is my second favourite drink of all time. Their prices are also average and not overly expensive.

A year ago this would have been number one on my list, if not for...



1. The Alley

6183 Currents Dr NW, Edmonton, AB T6W 4G3 and West Edmonton Mall

I have never seen a lineup for the opening of a bubble tea location until The Alley opened up in Windermere. Not only was there a lineup on opening day, but for weeks after. I waited for the hype to die down, before I finally went on a Sunday morning to try it myself, and it was worth losing my morning sleep.

Their drinks are distinct and unique, with amazingly chewy tapioca. I would highly recommend the Royal No. 9 Milk Tea and its wonderfully balanced tea flavour with a hint of blueberry.



785 views
bottom of page